AiCure wins Best Technological Development in Clinical Trials Award – Patient-focused at The 12th Annual Scrip Awards.

The Scrip Awards acknowledge and commend the pharmaceutical sector’s stand-out performers across all areas of the industry, recognising both corporate and individual achievements.
AiCure’s artificial intelligence DOT smartphone app won the award for Best Technological Development in Clinical Trials Award – Patient-focused at the 12th Annual Scrip Awards. The win was announced during a ceremony presented by award-winning broadcaster Jeremy Vine at the esteemed five-star Grosvenor House Hotel on the 30th November 2016.
The Best Technological Development in Clinical Trials Award recognises the vital importance of using the most sophisticated platforms to catalyse and optimise data gathering during clinical trials.
This year’s award went to went to AiCure’s artificial intelligence DOT smartphone app. The company’s technology is a new approach to artificial intelligence that uses artificial intelligence to visually confirm medication ingestion on smartphones. The platform was developed to automate directly observed therapy (DOT), the gold standard in monitoring and maximizing adherence, by visually identifying the patient, the drug, and the act of ingestion.
The judges said: “Lack of compliance is a huge issue during clinical trials and it can dramatically impact study results. AiCure’s technology is very impressive as it should help address these issues and increase the validity of future trials.”
Recipients are chosen from entries adjudicated by a distinguished judging panel which this year included: Sir Gregory Winter, Master, Trinity College Cambridge; Brian Hargreaves, Independent Adviser, Consultancy; Laurie A. Halloran, President, Halloran Consulting; Ray Winquist, Senior leader for target identification, drug discovery and development, Pharma Research and Discovery Consulting; Dr Laura Brown, Director, LB Training and Development; Dennis Gillings CBE, Co-founder and former Executive Chairman, QuintilesIMS; Professor Trevor Jones CBE, Chairman, Simbec-Orion Group; Viren Mehta, Founder and managing member, Mehta Partners; Dr Alison Messom, Chairman Institute of Clinical Research, Director ALM Consultancy; Phornvit Phacharintanakul, Chairman , Strategic Business Partners; Peter Pitts, President, Center for Medicine in the Public Interest; Dr Brian Tempest, Editor, Journal of Generic Medicines; Robert Spiegel, Founder, Spiegel Consulting; Robert Thong, Independent Consultant and Writer, SciTechStrategy and Andy Smith, Chief Investment Officer, Mann Bioinvest.
The Scrip Awards are managed by Scrip Intelligence, the premier source of information for the pharmaceutical industry. Scrip provides information, analysis and knowledge for business decision makers in a changing and increasingly complex pharmaceuticals environment.
To see the full list of Scrip Awards winners please visit: